New Leadership In Medicine, Education & Arts in the LMA

This summer will see significant leadership changes in the LMA, and here’s a brief snapshot on each institution’s new leader:


David J. Chard, Ph.D., former Dean of the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development at Southern Methodist University, began his tenure as Wheelock's 14th President on July 1. Dr. Chard's national reputation is reflected in his appointment by President Barack Obama to serve a three-year term on the Board of Directors for the National Board of Education. He is also a member of the International Academy for Research on Learning Disabilities and serves on the Board of Directors of the National Center for Learning Disabilities. Prior to his role at SMU, he served as the Associate Dean, Curriculum and Academic Programs and an Assistant/Associate Professor of Special Education at the University of Oregon. He has also held administrative and academic roles at the University of Texas-Austin and Boston University.


Laurie H. Glimcher, MD, an internationally recognized immunologist, has been named the next president and CEO of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute effective October 1, 2016. Glimcher is currently the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of the Medical College at Weill Cornell Medicine in New York City, where she is also professor of medicine and provost for medical affairs at Cornell University. Glimcher has strong ties to the Harvard medical community. Prior to joining Weill Cornell Medicine, Glimcher was the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology at the Harvard School of Public Health, and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, where she headed one of the top immunology programs in the world. She is widely considered to be one of the world leaders in understanding cellular differentiation pathways in lymphocytes and has made seminal discoveries of key transcription factors that drive lineage commitment and activation in the immune system. Most recently she has discovered a critical signaling pathway in both tumor cells and host immune responses, translating her basic discoveries in the control of immune cell differentiation into a new approach to cancer immunotherapy.


Sarah Pelmas joined The Winsor School this July as the eighth head of school, continuing a strong tradition of visionary women as school leaders. She continues to forge and share a compelling vision for Winsor’s future. “Winsor has always been forward-thinking about the education of women, and has had a history of extraordinary leaders. I am so proud to join their ranks.”


Dr. David Nelson assumed the helm of the Massachusetts College of Art and Design on June 1, 2016. Nelson’s career in higher education spans more than fifteen years, during which he has held administrative posts as both provost and dean, and taught music and religious studies. During his tenure at UNCSA, where he has served since 2010, the university has experienced steady enrollment growth and improved student retention rates. Nelson collaborated with faculty at UNCSA to institute a faculty rank system for the first time in the school’s history, implemented a new faculty salary scale, and opened a new Teaching and Learning Center to provide for faculty development opportunities and student learning services.


Earlier this year – The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum announced that Peggy Fogelman is the new Norma Jean Calderwood Director, succeeding Anne Hawley as the fifth director in the Museum’s history.

Since 2013, Fogelman has been Director of Collections at the Morgan Library & Museum in New York, overseeing eight curatorial departments, conservation, registration, and 16 to 20 exhibitions per year. Earlier this year, Fogelman served for 12 months as Acting Director while the Morgan searched for a new Director. She previously worked at the Metropolitan Museum of Art as Chairman of Education, the Peabody Essex Museum as Director of Education and Interpretation, and the J. Paul Getty Museum as Associate Curator of European Sculpture and later Assistant Director and Head of Education and Interpretive Programs.


Lastly, The Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health named Michelle Williams, S.M. ’88, Sc.D. ’91, as the school's new dean in July. Williams is a distinguished epidemiologist and award-winning educator known for her influential studies of maternal and child health around the world. Since 2011, Williams has been the Stephen B. Kay Family Professor of Public Health and chair of the Epidemiology Department at the Harvard Chan School.